Our Cloth diapering supplies

I decided during my pregnancy that I wanted to cloth diaper.  I knew that it would be challenging and I promised myself I would give it my best but not sacrifice my own or my family’s sanity trying to do it.  It’s so easy to get caught up in trying to do it all, and lose yourself in the process. There are several reasons why I personally chose to cloth diaper.  This article by The Natural Baby Co pretty much sums it all up.  I didn’t necessarily save money this time around because I got caught up in buying cute and some limited edition designer diapers.  If I can refrain from buying all the cute boy prints for my hypothetical future baby boy, then I will save lots of $$.  

     Keep in mind that there are several types and brands of cloth diapers, and finding the ones that work for you and your baby is about preference and trial & error.  If you want to read up on some of the different brands and types Here and Here and  Here are some links.  

This is a great resource for figuring out all the supplies you’ll need to cloth diaper Click here.

  

These are the products that I use and highly recommend: 

1.  Grovia Hybrid diaper. I also have used Bumgenius, Kawaii baby, Fuzzibunz, and Best Bottoms, but Grovias are my favorite 

2. Diaper Dekor.  Can be used for disposeable. We used disposeable until she was 8 wks, then switched to cloth.  It has a locking lid and contains the smell well.  I would only recommend for cloth diapering ONE child, as there is not room for more than 2 days worth of diapers.  I consider this a perk because it helps me keep track of laundry. (Going more than 2 days without washing can cause stains and smells to set in) 

3. Pail liners:  I have 2 Pail liners so that one is always clean.  The bags always go in the wash with each load of diapers that they carry.  I use PlanetWise and Ubbi.  I like them both.  

4.  Wet bags.  I use the large Planet Wise bag for daycare and this Skip Hop bag goes in the diaper bag (not just for diapers, soiled clothes can go in here too!)

5. Detergent:  I LOVE Charlie’s Soap.  It seems pricey but goes a long way!  I expect to have only used 2 to 2.5 containers in a year. (100load container).  This Biokleen Bac-out stain remover keeps my stash stain-free.  

6.  Drying rack.  I usually dry everything on low, but if I notice any stains that need to be treated, I set them aside to dry on the rack because the heat can sometimes set in stains.  

7. Diaper sprayer.  AND Spray Pal will make your life easier when it comes to handling poopie diapers

8. Flushable liners also make it easier.  You can flush the liner with poop and all.  Usually don’t have to rinse after.  

9. Wipes.  I didn’t plan on using cloth wipes, but it actually makes it easier to just throw the wipe in with the diaper, especially when it’s just pee.  We love Honest wipes for cleaning poop. 

10.  Disposeables.  Yes, sometimes shit gets real.  We use them when we have sitters, go on trips and when we just can’t deal (with cloth) Grovia biosoaker is also a great option if you have the hybrids.  

11.  Diaper rash cream.  Fortunately I have not had to deal with a diaper rash in cloth, but Sometimes I put California baby diaper cream on her at night since she sometimes sleeps 10 hours.  This cream wouldn’t be my first choice for treating a moderate to severe rash.  We did have to use Budreaux’s Butt paste for a rash when she was on antibiotics and pooping every hour, but we were using Disposeables at that point.  Make sure you have a cloth-safe diaper cream just in case.  Some barrier creams can ruin the absorbency of the diapers.  

It’s really not as difficult or unsanitary as people think.  

Feel free to ask questions and stay tuned for Blog posts including my wash routine, storage, and cloth wipes tutorial! 

Leave a comment

Hours & Info

1-202-555-1212
Lunch: 11am - 2pm
Dinner: M-Th 5pm - 11pm, Fri-Sat:5pm - 1am

About Us

Edin is a fully responsive theme that helps you to create a strong–yet beautiful–online presence for your business. Edin's layout adjusts itself depending on the device you are using. This means your site will look good not only on laptop browsers, but also on devices with smaller screens, such as the iPad and iPhone.